Truss Bridges

Screenshot 2020-01-06 at 10.02.31 PM.png

In this building challenge, we built a truss that could withstand the most weight. We had one day to build our truss. It was built out of balsa wood and wood glue. We spent one more day adding the green paper. These are called truss connectors. Over these two days, I developed a design that worked by doubling the thickness of the wood. I was experienced in cutting the wood and putting parts together because of my previous experience. In middle school, I was in science olympiad. We worked on building many things out of wood. We built windmills to generate energy, planes, and towers. Through all this, I learned how to cut balsa wood well and how to put it together. This helped me to do well. Overall, I got first place. My design did far better than most of the other builds. In this challenge, I learned more about wood glue because I only used super glue in middle school. This was a fun challenge and helped me learn more about trusses.

Leave a comment